Help CAC Choose our Climate Action Winners!

March 15, 2017  – You Get to Choose the Winners – Vote Now!

Yes, things are bleak at the national level. (Gut the EPA, the agency responsible for ensuring we have basic freedoms like clean air and clean water? Build the Dakota Access Pipeline and keep us dependent on oil and gas? Rollback fuel efficiency standards and stymie electric vehicles? Unconscionable.)

Despite it all, we have heroes among us in San Diego who are working hard to achieve a 100% clean energy future. We want to honor them. And we want YOU to help us decide who gets the special recognition this year. Your votes will help determine the winners! We’ll announce the results at our NightCAP Celebration on April 12.

Buy your ticket now and cast your vote for this year’s nominees (keep reading to see who they are).

Buy your NightCAP Tickets!WHY: Celebrate our local climate action heroes and enjoy the company of your fellow climate warriors!
WHEN: April 12, 2017. 5:30 p.m. VIP Hour,  6:30 p.m. Party Central
WHERE: Moniker Warehouse, 705 16th Street, San Diego, CA 92101Buy your NightCAP Tickets!

See you at Moniker Warehouse on April 12. We’ll be biking there, will you?


Cast your vote for the 2017 Climate Action Awards »

2017 Climate Action Award NOMINEES

“Captain of Conservation”

For businesses and organizations working toward a carbon-free future.

  • Bikes Del Pueblo – For empowering the next generation of climate leaders through cooperative free bike education that promotes transportation self-sufficiency on two wheels.
  • Closing the Loop – For pulling waste out of landfills to help San Diego meet its zero waste initiative.
  • Renovate America – For improving energy policies to help make 100% clean energy more accessible and affordable to homeowners and businesses across California and nationwide.

“Agent of Change”
For public institutions moving toward 100% clean energy.

  • City of Del Mar – For committing to 100% clean energy in its unanimously adopted 2016 Climate Action Plan.
  • City of Encinitas – For leading the North County coalition of coastal cities exploring a joint Community Choice Energy program.
  • City of Solana Beach – For being one of the first cities in the region to choose Community Choice Energy as a key climate solution.

“Unsung Hero”
For individuals fighting behind the scenes and out of the spotlight for a clean energy future.

  • Dr. Bruce Bekkar – For dedicating himself full-time to speaking out about the public health impacts of our climate crisis and volunteering for many organizations including Climate Action Campaign, Surfrider, Physicians for Social Responsibility and American Lung Association.
  • Jim Wang – For being a champion of bold climate action by persistently pushing forward the Community Choice Energy and Climate Action Plan efforts in Encinitas through his role on the Encinitas Environmental Commission.
  • Micah Mitrosky – For advancing the fight for middle-class jobs and clean air by being an instrumental leader of the Quality of Life Coalition that successfully defeated the polluting freeway Measure A.